AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get home appliances delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Apple’s HomeView is available in tabletop and wall-mounted versions, each priced at $299, but the two models are not interchangeable. The tabletop version includes a speaker base and is easier to install; the wall-mounted model needs a separate mount, and some installation options call for a licensed electrician.

Apple’s HomeView smart display comes in two versions, both priced at $299, but buyers must choose between a tabletop model with a speaker base and a wall-mounted model that needs a separate mount. A CNET buying guide says the choice affects audio, installation and additional costs, and cannot be changed later by adding the other model’s base.

Both versions include a 7-inch Liquid Retina display and are designed to provide a central screen for entertainment, smart home controls and home security monitoring. The report says both support face recognition for personalized accounts, Messages, FaceTime, Calendar, Reminders, Find My and Siri AI. The source does not provide technical details about how those features work or identify compatible devices and services.

The tabletop model is attached to its speaker base; it is not a detachable screen, despite what the report says has been a misconception in launch coverage. Its base adds audio hardware, including down-firing woofers, two passive radiators and two full-range drivers. CNET’s reporter described the sound as loud, with deep bass in a spacious demo area. That is a hands-on assessment, not a measured audio specification.

The wall-mounted version costs the same but does not include the tabletop speaker base. Apple’s listed mounting choices are all from Schneider Home: a $59.95 USB-C Power Mount, a $79.95 hardwired AC mount and a $129.95 Power over Ethernet mount. The USB-C option also requires a separate 20-watt adapter and leaves a visible cable running to an outlet. The AC mount is designed to sit flush and supplies 30 watts through a single-gang wall box; Apple recommends a licensed electrician for installation. The PoE mount carries power and a wired network connection over Ethernet and requires a compatible PoE switch and Ethernet run.

At a glance
reportWhen: Preorders are discussed ahead of the pl…
The developmentA buying guide explains the differences between Apple HomeView’s two $299 models and the separate mounts required for wall installation ahead of its Nov. 13 release.

The Choice Changes Setup and Cost

Because the models share a price but not their hardware, the decision is less about choosing a cheaper version and more about choosing the setup that fits the room. Buyers prioritizing stronger audio and simple setup may prefer the tabletop model, which uses a standard power adapter and USB-C cable. The report says that makes it a practical option for renters or anyone who does not want permanent installation.

The wall-mounted model may suit households that want a fixed smart home dashboard for calendars, widgets and device controls. But its displayed $299 price does not include a mount, and the overall expense may include a power adapter, electrical work or network equipment, depending on the chosen option. The source gives mount prices but does not provide electrician fees or a complete installed-cost estimate.

Installation is a safety and ownership consideration, not just a style choice. The USB-C mount still involves attaching hardware to a wall, while the AC and PoE versions require wiring infrastructure. Homeowners considering those installations should follow product guidance and use qualified professionals where recommended; renters may also need permission before drilling or making changes to wiring.

Amazon

Apple HomeView tabletop smart display

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Three Mounts, Three Power Setups

The buying guide frames HomeView as a product to preorder before a Nov. 13 release, although the supplied material does not specify the year. It focuses on a practical distinction that can be easy to miss in product coverage: the two HomeView versions are separate configurations, not a screen and optional base that can be combined after purchase. According to CNET, buyers are locked into their initial choice.

The mount options serve different installation conditions. The USB-C mount is the least expensive listed choice and uses a cable connected to a nearby outlet. The hardwired AC option connects to home power through a single-gang box. The PoE mount depends on existing or newly run Ethernet wiring and a compatible power-over-Ethernet switch, offering a wired network connection as well as power.

Michael Malfettone, owner of Malfettone Electric and a licensed master electrician, told CNET that the AC mount would be his choice for most homeowners because it connects to existing power and sits flush with no visible cord. He said the USB-C mount is the easiest option for someone comfortable with a visible cable, while PoE makes sense when Ethernet is already available or being added during a remodel. Those are his recommendations, not Apple’s stated ranking of the mounts.

“For most homeowners, I’d go with the AC Wired mount.”

— Michael Malfettone, owner of Malfettone Electric and licensed master electrician, quoted by CNET

Amazon

Apple HomeView wall-mounted smart display mount

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Installed Costs and Service Details

The supplied report does not establish the total cost of wall installation. It lists mount prices but not labor charges, and it says a 20-watt adapter must be purchased separately for the USB-C mount if the buyer does not already have one. The price of that adapter is not stated.

Details about ADT installation and service also remain unresolved in the source. CNET said an Apple representative had not immediately responded to questions about whether ADT installation reflects an Apple partnership or can be booked independently. The report does not confirm the service’s availability, coverage or terms.

The article also does not identify the release year, provide a complete list of compatible smart home products, or explain whether features such as security monitoring require additional subscriptions or hardware. Those details should be checked with Apple before ordering rather than assumed from the feature list.

Amazon

Apple HomeView compatible mounts

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Check Requirements Before Ordering

Before preordering, buyers should confirm whether they want the speaker-equipped tabletop model or the wall-mounted version, then check the power and network setup at the intended location. Wall-mount shoppers should compare the mount’s upfront price with any required adapter, wiring, Ethernet equipment and professional installation.

Apple’s product and ordering information, along with further details about any ADT installation service, could clarify costs and availability before the planned Nov. 13 release. Until those details are published, the source supports comparing the listed hardware and mount prices but not calculating a final installed price.

Amazon

smart home display with speaker base

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

Do both Apple HomeView models cost $299?

Yes. The source says both the tabletop and wall-mounted models are priced at $299. The wall-mounted model’s separate mount can add $59.95, $79.95 or $129.95, depending on the option.

Can I add a speaker base to the wall-mounted model later?

According to the CNET report, the models are not interchangeable: buyers cannot purchase the wall-mounted version and add the tabletop base later, or buy the tabletop version and switch to wall mounting by adding a mount.

Which HomeView model is easier to install?

The tabletop model has the simplest setup described in the source: it plugs into a nearby outlet with a standard power adapter and USB-C cable. Wall-mounted options require mounting hardware, and the AC hardwired version may require a licensed electrician.

What does the PoE mount require?

The Power over Ethernet mount requires an Ethernet run to the mount and a compatible PoE network switch. It carries power and a wired network connection over one cable, so it does not rely on Wi-Fi for that connection.

Is the final wall-mounted installation cost known?

No. The source lists mount prices but does not give electrician fees or a total installed cost. It also leaves details about ADT installation unresolved, so buyers should verify those costs and service terms before ordering.

Source: rss

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Brandywine Realty Trust Surges In Global Coverage

Brandywine Realty Trust experiences a surge in international media mentions, highlighting increased global interest in its activities and strategic developments.

Tool Deals From Amazon October 2026 Prime Day 2

ToolGuyd says many Amazon October Prime Big Deal Days tool offers carried over to Oct. 7, with few new finds and discounts on 3D printers.

KitchenAid Lineup Compared: Which Model Should You Buy in 2026?

Compare KitchenAid (A) and (B) in 2026—find out which mixer suits your needs with detailed specs, pros, cons, and real-world insights for smarter buying.

I Traded My Usual Coffee Ritual For This Speedy Automatic Machine – And The De’Longhi Rivelia Start Has Made Me Fall Back In Love With My Coffee Break

Ideal Home’s month-long test found the De’Longhi Rivelia Start made drinks quickly, with broad coffee options and a simpler feature set.